Tags

, , , ,

Screenshot 2015-07-21 12.56.30

Ok, let me preface this post with the following:

If you are looking for inside information on what is on the test, you have come to the wrong blog spot. You would be better served by clicking HERE.

Now, on to the post.

I took the Google Certified Educator, Level 1 exam this morning. It allowed plenty of time, 3 hours. I went through the online course, and made sure to perform each and every task. 

If you are a regular user of Google Apps for Education, this exam should not trouble you too much. It was a great course to go through, even though I was already very familiar with all of the apps.

I learned a few little things I did not already know, and it served as a great opportunity to brush up on some skills that I had not used. I actually picked up a few ideas in the middle of the test to use in my own classroom, or to share with others at my school. Any time we can pick up new ideas, it’s worth the effort.

Now, I am not able to share specifics of the exam with you, as I agreed to the NDA. (as you will if you wish to take the test) However, I can tell you this, know your Google products. Get in there and use them. If the course says to try something, try it, several times… especially if it is something unfamiliar to you. Like I said, I had plenty of time to take the test, but I could certainly see a person stumbling upon an unfamiliar area and that costing them a lot of valuable time.

As you go through the course, pay attention. Not just for the purpose of passing the test, but it is just good educational practice.

I actually was ready to take the test a couple of weeks ago, however, they took the test down due to some problems. I will be honest, I saw reports all over blogs and such saying that people were failing left and right. I panicked. I went through the entire course again over the last two days, making sure I had not skipped anything. I am glad I did. Much like reading a good book, you get things the second time that you didn’t pick up on the first time through.

Overall, I had a good experience with this process. I had absolutely no technical complications. I have decent internet where I live, if you do not, you will need to find a place where you have good, reliable internet service. You will also need a webcam for this test. Test these things before you start the test. Find a place where you can focus and read the questions. I read each question at least twice. Simply out of good practice. I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss anything in the question. We teach our kids to do the same, so practice what you preach here.

Also, go to the bathroom first. I know it sounds funny, but seriously. Just like before a paper test, take care of business up front.

I was please that I got to see whether I passed the test at the completion of the exam. Google has their act together here… something that testing companies could learn from (cough cough PARCC assessment).

If you have not taken the exam, do it! It’s a great program, you will learn something new, practice something old, and it benefits students.

